HOME | CONTACT | DEUTSCH | ENGLISH
cacao_perdu_1 cacao_perdu_2 cacao_perdu_3 cacao_perdu_4 cacao_perdu_5 cacao_perdu_6

Forunato No. 4

The confectionery specialities made from Fortunato N°4 chocolate rekindle the incomparable aroma of a legendary, premium cocoa. A limited edition from von Rotz. Authentic and delicious.

INCOMPARABLE AND EXCLUSIVE

Fortunato N°4 cannot be compared with any other chocolate in the world; it is truly unique. Made from rare Peruvian Nacional Cacao cultivated under sustainable conditions, it has exceptional aromatic qualities. The traditional art of Swiss confectionery brings the wonderful flowery bouquet to full fruition. Authentic and pure.

Only the very best confectioners worldwide are entrusted with Fortunato N°4. Confiserie von Rotz has been selected exclusively for Switzerland.

CHAPTER N°1

THE BEST COCOA IN THE WORLD

There was a time when Nacional Cacao enjoyed the reputation of being the best in the world, due to its unique flavour. At the beginning of the 20th century, however, the cocoa trees were struck by disease and practically died out. Crossed with other varieties, the plants became more resistant, but the Nacional Cacao from these hybrid trees had lost its unique taste for ever.

The original Nacional Cacao was long regarded as extinct – until 2002 when, thanks to DNA research methods, some trees in Ecuador were identified as genetically pure Nacional Cacao trees.

CHAPTER N°2

THE RETURN OF THE QUEEN

A few years later, beans from unusual looking cocoa pods were examined; they had come from a remote mountain valley in the Marañón River area in Peru and were genetically 100% identical to the original Nacional Cacao. The trees had survived intact through centuries of plant decay and hybridization. The absolute sensation: the valley proved to be the original source of Nacional – and even possibly the very birthplace of cocoa!

The uncrowned queen of cocoa, believed lost forever, is back! For the first time for almost one hundred years, chocolate from pure Nacional Cacao can be enjoyed again - with Fortunato N°4.

CHAPTER N°3

AROMAS FROM THE GARDEN OF EDEN

Lush vegetation, rich in colours and shapes, filled with the fragrance of a multitude of blooms: nature created a veritable Garden of Eden in this Peruvian mountain valley. The isolated position and a special microclimate favoured the growth of an exceptional variety of plants.

For centuries, many different types of cocoa have grown there, surrounded by citrus fruits and coffee trees, bananas, coconuts, sugar cane and wild honey. In this habitat the Nacional variety was able to develop unusual aromatic qualities, and this is what makes Fortunato N°4 so deliciously different.

CHAPTER N°4

SUSTAINABLE CULTIVATION AND FAIR PRICES

The cocoa farmers allow their trees to flourish for generations amidst this diversity of plants; natural methods of cultivation in harmony with the environment, ecologically sound and sustainable. The beans are of a quality that can never be achieved in a classic cocoa plantation. The cacaoteros are paid a fair price for this quality, helping to maintain the biodiversity and thus the unique quality and flavour of this cocoa.

HOME | KONTAKT | DEUTSCH | ENGLISH
cacao_perdu_1 cacao_perdu_2 cacao_perdu_3 cacao_perdu_4 cacao_perdu_5 cacao_perdu_6

Fortunato No. 4

In den Confiserie-Spezialitäten aus Fortunato No 4 Chocolat lebt das unvergleichliche Aroma eines legendären Edelcacaos wieder auf. Eine limitierte Rarität aus dem Hause von Rotz. Echt und gut.

UNVERGLEICHLICH UND EXKLUSIV

Die Fortunato No 4 ist einmalig und mit keiner Schokolade der Welt zu vergleichen. Sie besteht aus seltenem peruanischem Nacional Cacao aus nachhaltigem Anbau, der aussergewöhnliche aromatische Eigenschaften besitzt. Das wunderbare, blumige Bouquet kommt durch die Veredelung nach ursprünglicher Schweizer Chocolatier-Kunst zur vollen Entfaltung. Authentisch und unverfälscht.

Weltweit wird die Fortunato No 4 nur ausgewählten Meistern ihres Fachs zur Verarbeitung anvertraut. In der Schweiz exklusiv der Confiserie von Rotz.

KAPITEL N°1

DER BESTE CACAO DER WELT

Es gab eine Zeit, da galt die Cacaosorte Nacional wegen ihrer einzigartigen Geschmacksnoten als beste der Welt. Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts wurde sie von einer Krankheit befallen und starb praktisch aus. Mittels Kreuzungen wurde den Pflanzen zu mehr Resistenz verholfen. Der Nacional Cacao dieser Hybrid-Bäume aber hatte seinen einzigartigen Geschmack für immer verloren.

Der ursprüngliche Nacional Cacao galt lange als ausgestorben – bis im Jahr 2002 dank DNA-Forschungsmethoden in Ecuador wenige Exemplare genetisch reinsortiger Nacional-Cacaobäume identifiziert werden konnten.

KAPITEL N°2

DIE RÜCKKEHR DER KÖNIGIN

Einige Jahre später werden Bohnen aussergewöhnlich aussehender Cabosses (Cacaofrüchte) aus einem abgelegenen Hochtal in der Umgebung des peruanischen Flusses Marañón untersucht. Es handelt sich genetisch zu 100% um ursprünglichen Nacional Cacao. Er hat Jahrhunderte des Pflanzensterbens und der Sorten-Durchmischung unbeschadet überstanden. Die Sensation: Das Tal erweist sich als der Ursprungsort der Sorte Nacional – und eventuell als Wiege des Cacaos überhaupt!

Die verloren geglaubte, ungekrönte Königin des Cacaos ist zurück! Zum allerersten Mal seit fast hundert Jahren kann mit der Fortunato N°4 wieder reinsortiger Nacional Cacao genossen werden.

KAPTIEL N°3

AROMEN AUS DEM GARTEN EDEN

Eine üppige Vegetation, reich an Farben und Formen, erfüllt vom Duft der Blütenvielfalt: Die Natur schuf in diesem peruanischen Hochtal einen Garten Eden. Die isolierte Lage und ein spezielles Mikroklima begünstigten die Entwicklung einer einzigartigen Pflanzenvielfalt.

Seit Jahrhunderten wachsen dort die verschiedensten Arten von Cacao, umgeben von Zitrusfrüchten und Kaffee­bäumen, Bananen und Kokosnüssen, Zuckerrohr und wildem Honig. In diesem Lebensraum konnte die Sorte Nacional aussergewöhnliche aromatische Eigenschaften entwickeln. Dies macht die Fortunato No 4 in ihrem Geschmack so herausragend und einzigartig.

KAPITEL N° 4

NACHHALTIGER ANBAU UND FAIRE PREISE

Die Cacaoteros (Cacaobauern) lassen ihre Pflanzen seit Generationen inmitten dieser Pflanzenvielfalt gedeihen. Ein ursprünglicher Anbau im Einklang mit der Natur, ökologisch und nachhaltig. Die Bohnen sind von einer Qualität, die im klassischen Plantagen-Anbau nie erreicht werden kann. Für diese Qualität wird den Cacaoteros ein fairer Preis bezahlt. Dies hilft mit, die Biodiversität und damit auch die einmaligen Qualitäts- und Geschmackseigenschaften dieses Cacaos zu erhalten.